Adventures in cooking.

Standard

Sometimes all I can think about is cooking. Trying new recipes, making the old familiar recipes that make me think of home, puttering around our kitchen mincing garlic and simmering tomato sauce and stirring batter. For some reason, that’s happening right now. I can’t get enough of reading cooking blogs, looking at new recipes and hanging out in the kitchen. Maybe it’s because it gets dark at 5:00 and it seems like that’s all there is to do all evening. Maybe it’s because we’re taking a break from Paleo so the recipe world has opened up. Maybe it’s the instinctual need to eat more during winter. I don’t know what it is, but the last few weeks have been fun!

A friend of mine from college has a really beautiful blog at ellensnorthwest.com. She works at a fancy Seattle restaurant, has fabulous taste in food and drink, and takes wonderful photos (of food, but other things too). On a recent perusal of her blog, I found a reference to Eat, Live, Run. I, just last week, brought Jenna’s book White Jacket Required home from the library and have been constantly poring over her recipes since (which may or may not have something to do with this move away from Paleo…) How did I not know about this blog before? Holy buckets, Jenna and her culinary adventures are amazing! After spending a few hours (!!!) on her blog yesterday, I found a recipe which was really intriguing to me – mostly because it sounded so weird! So when I got home from work last night, I decided to make her Olive Oil Cake. She describes it as the cake she takes to every get-together because it’s so easy and delicious, and she was right! While I don’t have a KitchenAid mixer, I found my hand mixer to be perfectly acceptable at beating the eggs and sugar to make this light, deliciously citrusy cake.

Here it is just out of the oven with an uneven dusting of powdered sugar on the top. And here is the piece I ate immediately after. It was delicious!

whole cake

piece of cake

This morning, because I was feeling particularly industrious, I got up a little early and put together this awesome looking Crock Pot Chicken Chili recipe that I found on Pinterest, but that originally comes from The Comfort of Cooking. Is it just me, or does raw chicken always look gross? A small price to pay for having yummy chili ready to eat when I get home from work!

raw chicken chili

Anyone else out there cooking up a storm lately? Any fun recipes to share? Happy December everyone!

Update: here is what dinner looks like! I’m pretty excited about it!

chili

Leave a Reply

