The weekend in food, part 2

Standard

The next morning we woke up and went directly to the farmer’s market. Grand Junction is kind of a meccas for fruit and vegetables this time of year (two of the nearby communities are called Fruita and Orchard Mesa) so it’s a sin to eat anything other than fresh, local food. We bought a box of peaches, took them home and made corn meal pancakes slathered with Greek honey yogurt and fresh, juicy sliced peaches. It’s one of my favorite summer breakfasts and if you’ve visited me here during the months of July and October, it’s probably what we ate for at least one, if not multiple, breakfasts. The natural sweetness of the peaches and the not-to sweet quality of the yogurt means you can eat these pancakes with no syrup (and they only have 1T of sugar in the recipe)!

And then Nora left and Kyle was gone and I was starting to feel sick so I slept a lot, went for a run and cooked some more. Here are my culinary adventures from yesterday (needless to say, we have leftovers for the whole week!)

Zucchini Patty Sandwiches (courtesy of WholeLiving – a delicious falafel-like meal that helps me use the millions of zucchini coming out of my garden right now)

  • 1 15.5-oz can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup plain breadcrumbs
  • 1 zucchini, grated (I used one and a half and added a few extra breadcrumbs)
  • 1 small red onion, grated
  • 1 egg, lightly whisked
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 4 whole-wheat pitas, toasted
  • 1 cup low-fat Greek yogurt
  • 8 leaves tender lettuce
  • 1 cup fresh mint leaves
  1. Mash chickpeas in a bowl until smooth. Stir in breadcrumbs, zucchini, onion, egg, and salt. I added garlic powder and a little dash of cayenne for some heat. I also threw in a bit of white pepper. Form into eight 4-by-1/2-inch patties.
  2. Saute patties in oil until golden and crisp, 2 to 3 minutes per side.
  3. Halve pitas and stuff with patties, yogurt, lettuce, and mint. I added tomatoes and avacado to mine because they were in the fridge and it was a delicious addition.

    These were so delicious. I added a few extra ingredients as I was going through because I wanted to use extra zucchini, so we’ll have leftovers for awhile, but this is a great thing to throw together for a delicious lunch at work. I highly recommend this recipe as well!

    And finally, I was feeling a little sugar deprived so I made some yummy red velvet cupcakes to take for dessert at work this week. I left the frosting off because I was a little mortified at how much butter the cream cheese frosting recipes called for and these cupcakes had enough flavor and moisture to stand along. Of course, now I can’t find the recipe I used, but the secret was using plain vanilla yogurt as your dairy product – no milk or butter milk. That gives the cupcake a hint of the flavor the frosting usually brings, thus eliminating the need for frosting. Genius! Ok, that’s enough food talk for now. Just know that my tummy was happy this weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

