The rough plan

Standard

I’ve mentioned before that I’m about to start on a pretty drastic career change path. I’ve worked almost exclusively in the environmental non-profit world and, as a result of several life changes in the last two years, I’ve decided to make the switch to health care. While I truly believe my work in environmental education is valuable and important, I also know it’s not work I want to do forever. And I’m excited about my future in the medical field. Depending on where I end up, there will be an opportunity to provide quality healthcare and a little bit of education mixed in there too.

 

 

 

 

I know there are tons of different perspectives on Obamacare and the fact that it was upheld by the Supreme Court. This is one of those issues that people will probably never agree on. But the undeniable truth is that in the next 15-20 years, the need for healthcare providers is going to skyrocket. You can probably say the reasons with me: the baby boomers are aging,  technology allows higher quality medical care in smaller clinics and smaller towns, more and more people are suffering from diseases, the list goes on. It’s exciting to think about being a part of a field with so much at stake in the pretty near future. Obamacare or no Obamacare, privatized Medicare or public Medicare, PAs will still be needed, and here I come!

So, what does that mean right now? It means that my application for my post-bacc program will be turned in by this time next month. It means that in addition to a full-time job, I’m also taking an online class and volunteering at the hospital here. It means that next spring I will be taking a night class from 6-10 four nights/week to get my EMT so that after I finish my post-bacc program I can get a job in health care. It means that the career path that I’ve been on for the last five years is about to be replaced by five more years of training, school and work experience before I can re-enter the job market. It’s scary to think about leaving a career with an economy like this. But I also know it’s the right decision for my future, and I can’t wait to get started!

One response »

Leave a Reply

