Operation: Physician Assistant

Standard

Sometimes my Physician Assistant aspirations feel very far away. When I’m sitting in my office thinking about what the next five years will be like (5 years! It will be 5 years before I’m in any kind of career-type job again! That’s so intimidating!) it’s hard to picture what my day to day life will be like. I’ll be a student in Montana for awhile, then I’ll work somewhere for awhile, then I’ll (hopefully) be admitted to PA school somewhere. The unknowns that used to excite me now make me pretty uneasy. But things are finally starting to move here. After beginning the planning process in June – I got my acceptance to my pre-req program in Bozeman last month, and I recently started a CNA program here in Colorado so that when I start school (time permitting) I can also start to build up my clinical hours (most programs require at least 1000).

Starting yesterday, my normal day looks like this:

6:30 – wake up, feed dogs, shower, make breakfast and lunch

7:45 – go to work

4:00 – go home, eat dinner, let dogs out

4:45 – go to school

9:30 – get home from school, study

12:00 – go to bed

This is the most restrictive schedule I’ve ever been on – hardly any time in the day to much other than work, school, eat and study. As a result, I’ve become very reliant on my slow cooker. Seriously, when I have 45 min between getting home and leaving for school, I need dinner to be easy. So a few nights ago I threw a couple chicken breasts in with a can of beer, some salt, pepper and oregano. It isn’t the most delicious chicken I’ve ever had, but it’s been great on top of salads for lunch this week. Earlier last weekend I made some slow cooker Chicken Tikka Masala from Eat, Live, Run which was so delicious that I didn’t have time to take a picture of it before it all disappeared. But I wholeheartedly recommend Jenna’s recipe. (She also has a great book review up right now that I’m interested to check out.)

Our supplies on these meals were running low though, so this morning I got up to make Slow Cooker Chicken Noodle Soup. I found the recipe on Pinterest, but it originally comes from Daily Mothering. I chopped up some carrots, celery, leeks (which I substituted for the onions), threw some chicken breasts on top, sprinkled with salt, pepper and basil, and drizzled with a 1/2 cup of white wine.

chicken noodle soup

And then I walked away. I went to a doctor’s appointment, and then to work. When I get home tonight, I’ll pull the chicken out and tear it apart with a fork. I’ll dump the veggies and any juice into a stock pot with about 8 cups of stock, add some egg noodles, simmer for 10 min, add the chicken and then eat dinner! I can tell, during this time of crazy schedules and little free time, that my slow cooker and I are going to be very, very good friends.  Anyone have any must-try slow cooker recipes?

Leave a Reply

